Dubuque Women's Leadership Network

Position Director - Special Events

Term Two (2) Years

Tenure Can serve up to three (3) consecutive terms

Updated September 2024

- 1. This position attends every monthly Board meeting. A minimum of nine (9) are required per year. If, for any reason, she cannot attend the Board meeting, she should pass on any pertinent information to another Board member to bring to the meeting.
- 2. This position is asked to promote WLN, support and encourage members of the Board, committee members, and the entire WLN organization. She should attend as many WLN functions as possible.
- 3. The Special Events Directors plans specific special events including the Annual Connect Experience and Women of Achievement Event. She is responsible for the creation and oversight of committees, serving as Co-Chair of them, to assist in the event planning. She is responsible to keep the Board updated as to the progress of the event planning and to obtain Board approval for costs.
- 4. The Special Events Director should assist the Treasurer in preparing an annual Board approved budget covering meals and speaker costs for noted Special Events at the beginning of each year, in order to facilitate her planning.
- 5. The Special Events Director secures sponsors for both the Annual Connect Experience.
- 6. This position works with local media outlets on the promotion of events to include, but not limited to, on air interviews and media buys.
- 7. The Special Events Director will arrange for Special Events locations and meals, utilizing member facilities when possible.
- 8. The Special Events Director should seek potential Special Events speakers at least 4 months in advance and present them to the Board for approval before committing.
- 9. At the end of her term of office, this position will turn over all documents, files, etc, pertaining to her office to her successor. She will be available to answer questions during a transition period (up to 3 months).

2024-2023 Nicole Link + Malorie Steffen

2022-2019 Miranda Heiar2018-2017 Kelly Wenzelman

*2017 saw a change to calendar year 1/1 – 12/31 from fiscal year

2017-2012 Chelsea Ellingson2012-2010 Lynne Hager

2010-2008 Marcie Rowan

2008-2006 Combined with Programming